1. Home
  2. Alert Behavior
  3. Reroute an Incident

Reroute an Incident

Sometimes, users who are paged for an issue may need to reroute the incident, either to another team, or to a specific individual.  VictorOps offers the ability to route an existing incident to individual users, teams of users or escalation policies.

What you need to know:

  • When an incident is routed directly to a user, the user will be paged in accordance with their personal paging policy until it has been acknowledged.
  • When an incident is routed to one or more escalation policies, it will page and escalate in accordance with the steps indicated in the policy.
  • You will want to ensure your team members have appropriately set up their policies such that important incidents aren’t being routed to email purgatory.
  • Bonus: If you’ve created ‘teams’ for the purpose of rerouting to an individual, you may choose to delete these and clean up the Team UI.

Web Portal

From the Incident Management Pane (far right), click the reroute symbol:

This will produce a pop-up prompt where you can search for Escalation Policies and Users to reroute to.


Selecting a User(s) to reroute to will invoke notifications according to that user’s Personal Paging Policy.

Selecting an Escalation Policy will cause the incident to be processed by that policy, which may or may not result an any users being notified immediately depending on the way the policy is configured.

Once you have selected the appropriate users or policies, simply click “Reroute”.

Mobile

Android

From the respective incident’s page, in the bottom right corner there is the ACK or REROUTE buttons and on the left hand corner is SNOOZE:

Select Reroute

From the Reroute page, select any and all escalation policies or direct Users to be notified in the reroute. Note that in Android you can also utilize a search feature via the magnifying glass icon. Once you have finished marking your selection, tap the send icon in the upper right corner to confirm your decision.

iOS

Within the iOS app, tap into the Incident (default view is Timeline tab) and at the bottom right corner there is ACK or REROUTE displayed, as well as SNOOZE in the bottom left hand corner for this Incident. Select Reroute:

From the Reroute page, select any and all escalation policies or direct Users to be notified in the reroute. Once you have finished marking your selection, tap Reroute in the upper right corner to confirm your decision.

Updated on August 21, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles