1. Home
  2. Getting Started
  3. How to set up Team Admins

How to set up Team Admins

The Team Admin permission set is an Enterprise level feature and can be assigned to VictorOps users on a per team basis. A User may be promoted to a Team Admin role from the Users list within a team. Once promoted to Team Admin, that User has permissions to manage all aspects of that team. 

Getting Started

To get started, a user with the role of Global Admin will be required to create the first Team Admin on a team. To do this, navigate to the Users tab within a specific team. Click the pencil icon on the left-hand side to promote a User to a Team Admin.

You will then be asked to confirm that you want to promote this user to a Team Admin role. Click ‘Confirm’ to give this user Team Admin permissions.

In the Users Table, Team Admins will be ‘Users’ under the user column but under the ‘Team Admin’ column, Team Admins will have a green circle with a white check mark present.

This user now has Team Admin permissions and will be able to manage all scheduling aspects for this team, as well as Transmogrifier Rules, Routing Keys, and Integrations. Team Admins can also promote other users to Team Admins. This is useful in allowing teams to be more self-sufficient.

If you need to demote a Team Admin back to a User role, use the same pencil icon to the left of the users name. A pop up will appear confirming that you want to change this users permissions. 

Once removed from the Team Admin role, that user will no longer have a green circle under the ‘Team Admin’ column. Note: We recommend you designate at least one Team Admin per team. This lightens the administrative tasks of Org Admins.


Converting Org Admins to Team Admins

If you need to convert a Global Admin in your account to a Team Admin, the following steps are required:

1. Navigate to the Personal Profile for that person and change their Admin role to User.

2. Navigate to the Team where this User will be promoted to Team Admin.
Note: This user will need to be a member of that team to be promoted to Team Admin. Use the pencil icon on the right-hand side of the Users Table to promote that User to a Team Admin. Once promoted the user will have a green circle next to their name under the ‘Team Admin’ column. 


Team Belongingness

You’ll notice the User Table within a team has 5 columns. Name, Username, Role, Team Admin, and Status. The Role column will show if a user has Global Admin, Alert Admin, or User permissions. Team Admin will have the role of User in this column. In the Team Admin column, if a user has a Team Admin permissions the user will have a green circle with a white check mark in their row.


User Management

Adding Users to Orgs

Team Admins have the ability to add users to an org because we recognize the importance of being able to onboard new team members into VictorOps.
Note: They can’t remove users from an Org.

Adding Users to Teams

Team Admins have permission to add and remove users on their teams.


Team Management

Rotations & Escalation Policies

Team Admins have permissions to create, modify, and delete rotations and escalation policies for their teams. Please reference these articles for help performing these actions:

VictorOps Knowledge Base: Rotations

VictorOps Knowledge Base: Escalation Policies

Team Creation

Team Admin

If a user is a Team Admin for at least one team, they have the ability to create new teams. When they create a new team, they’re automatically designated as a Team Admin for that team.

Org Admin

If an Org Admin creates a new team, they’re automatically added to that team. The Org Admin will then be able to promote users to Team Admin or Alert Admin. 


Scheduled Overrides

Create/Delete

Team Admins can manage Scheduled Overrides for members of their team(s). They can create overrides for all users on their teams. They can’t delete overrides for anyone except themselves.

Assignment/Reset

Team Admins can only assign members of their teams to cover escalation policies that fall within their teams. If an override contains coverage requests for escalation policies outside of that Team Admin’s teams, the Team Admin won’t have access to assign a user to cover it. They can still cover the request themselves. The image below demonstrates this.

Team Admins can reset coverage for escalation policies  in teams they’re Team Admins for or for any override they personally take.


Alert Behavior

The actions described below are Global & Alert Admin permissions. They are not scoped to a team. Team Admins have permissions to:

  • Create, modify, delete route keys—they can also update the default escalation policy for the Org
  • Enable/disable integrations
  • Create, modify, delete Transmogrifier Rules

Note: Team Admins don’t have access to the VictorOps API.

Email Updates

Team Admins will receive a daily email updating them on uncovered scheduled overrides starting within a week. Once the override has been covered it’ll no longer show in the email. If there are multiple Team Admins on a team, all of the Team Admins will receive the same email.

Billing

Team Admins don’t have access to billing within VictorOps. Org Admin is the only role with this access.

Updated on February 28, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles