1. Home
  2. Scheduling
  3. Scheduled Overrides

Scheduled Overrides

Scheduled Overrides allow users to request on-call coverage for any planned absence. Global Admins have the permissions to assign any user to override for that period, and any incidents routed to the absent user will instead page the overriding user. Below is a short walkthrough on how a Global Admin can set up a scheduled override.


First, from portal.victorops.com select Teams, then click on the name of any team in which the user you want to schedule the override for is a part of. Within the teams page select Scheduled Overrides and then Schedule an Override. If the team which the user belongs to is not known, simply click into any team as the Scheduled Overrides tab is global, and therefore all users and scheduled overrides will appear, regardless of which team is selected.  

Select the User who will be absent, define the start and end date for when they will be unavailable, then select Create.

A Global Admin can select a user to override for the absent user on each Escalation Policy they are a part of – regardless of whether or not they are actually in rotation during the interval in which the scheduled override takes place. Another option is that any user may go in and manually select the Take option assigning themselves to cover for the absent user for that team.

Similar to a Global Admin, a Team Admin can also create a Scheduled Override, but only for members of their Team. Then they can select a different team member(s) to take this override. Something to note is that once this Scheduled Override is created, the Team Admin can not delete this, only the User themselves or a Global Admin will be able to remove it.

A User can create and delete a Scheduled Override for themselves, but can not add any other users into their override. For other user’s Scheduled Overrides, a user can then Take whichever areas within a Scheduled Override that they choose to cover.


To delete a Scheduled Override, expand the view, then click on the hamburger icon at the far right-hand side of the override (seen in image below), and select Delete. If you do not want to delete the Scheduled Override entirely, but just clear out one user that has been assigned to it, click on ‘Reset’- this will make it blank.

If a Scheduled Override has yet to be assigned, users within the organization will receive an email stating which user(s), timeframe, and Teams:Escalation policies, need to be covered. If the Scheduled Override does not get filled before the date specified in the override, the scheduled user will be seen as on-duty and continue to be paged for incidents routed to them.

NOTE: A scheduled override is created for each rotation that the user is a part of, regardless of whether or not they will be on call during the time of their absence. This is to prevent any possible gaps in coverage if the schedule is changed. Even if the user is not on call for a certain rotation during the time of their absence, it can be a good idea to assign another team member to cover this shift, instead of leaving it unassigned. This will ensure that there are no gaps in coverage if the schedule is changed as well as prevent unscheduled override emails from being sent out regarding this shift.


When an override is assigned, the user covering the shift will appear on the calendar within the On-Call Schedule tab in yellow. Hovering over the calendar will display who this user is currently covering for.

To access this calendar view, click on the dropdown arrow to the far right of the team name.

 

 

Updated on September 25, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles